ASLH Annual Meeting Call for Proposals

The American Society for Legal History will be having its 48th annual meeting in Houston, Texas from November 8 -11, 2018.

The Program Committee invites proposals for complete panels and individual papers. Panels and papers on any facet or period of legal history from anywhere in the world are welcome. Panel proposals should include the following: a c.v. for each person on the panel, including complete contact information; 300-word abstracts of individual papers; complete or partial drafts of papers, where possible; and a short description of the panel.

The Program Committee also welcomes any other form of structured presentation to fill a 90-minute slot in, for example, author-meets-reader, lightning round, workshop, or roundtable format. Sufficient information following the general guidelines for panel proposals should be provided for the Committee to assess the merits of the presentation.

Individual paper submissions should consist of an abstract, a draft paper (where possible), and a c.v. Given the number and high quality of panel and other complete sessions submitted, individual papers are much less likely than full sessions to be accepted. To help those of you with individual papers find other like-minded presenters to organize panels, the Legal History Blog is generously offering a space where people with individual papers can find one another. Feel free to post your paper topic and/or panel idea in the comments at (and make sure to include an email address or other contact information so people can find you).

The Program Committee additionally seeks proposals for full-day or half-day pre-conference symposia crafted around related themes to augment traditional conference offerings. Please provide a program title, the intended length of program, a program description, a c.v. and contact information for each presenter, and any information technology requirements. The Program Committee is available to consult with organizers of such symposia as they develop their proposal.

Prospective participants may submit proposals for multiple sessions, with the understanding that, absent exceptional circumstances, no individual may appear more than once on the final program in any capacity. The Program Committee strives to include as many participants as possible and will work with session organizers to identify suitable replacements for any sessions from which a participant has had to withdraw.

The members of the Program Committee are:

Catharine Macmillan, King’s College, London (co-Chair) <email>
Matthew Mirow, Florida International University (co-Chair) <email>
Angela Fernandez, University of Toronto <email>
Katrina Jagodinsky, University of Nebraska, Lincoln <email>
Emily Kadens, Northwestern University <email>
H. Timothy Lovelace, Indiana University <email>
Michelle McKinley, University of Oregon <email>
Daniel J. Sharfstein, Vanderbilt University <email>
Joshua C. Tate, Southern Methodist University <email>
John Wertheimer, Davidson College <email>

All program presenters must be current members of the Society by the date of the Annual Meeting. All proposals must be submitted via the online system.  The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2018.