Kathryn T. Preyer Scholars

Named after the late Kathryn T. Preyer, a distinguished historian of the law of early America known for her generosity to early career legal historians, the program of Kathryn T. Preyer Scholars is designed to help legal historians at the beginning of their careers. At the annual meeting of the Society two early career legal historians designated Kathryn T. Preyer Scholars will present what would normally be their first papers to the Society. The generosity of Professor Preyer’s friends and family has enabled the Society to offer a small honorarium to the Preyer Scholars and to reimburse, in some measure or entirely, their costs of attending the meeting. The competition for Preyer Scholars is organized by the Society’s Kathryn T. Preyer Memorial Committee.

Submissions are welcome on any topic in legal, institutional and/or constitutional history. Early career scholars, including those pursuing graduate or law degrees, those who have completed their terminal degree within the previous year, and those independent scholars at a comparable stage, are eligible to apply. Papers already submitted to the ASLH Program Committee–whether or not accepted for an existing panel–and papers never previously submitted are equally eligible. Once selected, Preyer Award winners must present their paper as part of the Preyer panel, and they will be removed from any other panel.

Submissions should be a single MS Word document consisting of a complete curriculum vitae, contact information, and a complete draft of the paper to be presented. Papers must not exceed 40 pages (12 point font, double-spaced) and must contain supporting documentation. In past competitions, the Committee has given preference to draft articles and essays, though the Committee will still consider shorter conference papers, as one of the criteria for selection will be the suitability of the paper for reduction to a twenty-minute oral presentation. The deadline for submission is June 15, 2018.

Kathryn T. Preyer Scholars will receive a $500 cash award and reimbursement of expenses up to $750 for travel, hotels, and meals. Each will present the paper that s/he submitted to the competition at the Society’s annual meeting. The Society’s journal, Law and History Review, has published several past winners of the Preyer competition, though it is under no obligation to do so.

Please send submissions as Microsoft Word attachments by June 15, 2018 to the chair of the Preyer Committee, Jed Shugerman, Chair, Fordham University <email>. He will forward them to the other committee members.

The 2018 Preyer Memorial Committee
Jed Shugerman (2017), Chair, Fordham University <email>
Rabia Belt (2016), Stanford University <email>
Anne Fleming (2017), Georgetown University <email>
Will Smiley (2017), Reed College <email>
Laura Kalman (2017), University of California, Santa Barbara <email>
Gautham Rao (ex officio) (Editor, Law & History Review), American University <email>

Past Winners

2017Kellen Funk (Princeton University), Shaun Ossei-Owusu (Columbia Law School)
2016Catherine Evans (University of Toronto), Giuliana Perrone (University of California, Berkeley)
2015Danielle Boaz (University of North Carolina-Charlotte), Maeve Glass (Princeton University)
2014Gregory Ablavsky (University of Pennsylvania), Rabia Belt (University of Michigan)
2013Matthew A. Axtell (New York University School of Law, Princeton University), Elizabeth Papp Kamali (University of Michigan)
2012Sarah Levine-Gronningsater (University of Chicago), Taisu Zhang (Yale University)

2011Kevin Arlyck (New York University), Anne Fleming (University of Pennsylvania), Michael Schoeppner (University of Florida)
2010Melissa Hayes (Northern Illinois University), Katherine Turk (University of Chicago)
2009Cary Franklin (Yale University), Elizabeth Katz (University of Virginia)
2008Cynthia Nicoletti (University of Virginia), Joshua Stein (University of California, Los Angeles)
2007Gautham Rao (University of Chicago), Laura Weinrib (Princeton University)
2006Sophia Z. Lee (Yale University), Karen M. Tani (University of Pennsylvania)