Craig Joyce Medal

The Society depends on the volunteer labors of its members.  It is fortunate in the number of its members who are willing to join in the business of the Society, which is to foster scholarship and teaching in the broad field of legal history.  Each year well over a hundred names appear on this website on the lists of officers, directors, and committee members.  Among that number, a few people contribute their time to the Society over many years in ways that are above and beyond the call of duty, even in an organization whose members have a strong sense of duty.  The Craig Joyce Medal recognizes those individuals.  It is awarded on an occasional basis to acknowledge and honor extraordinary and sustained volunteer service to the Society.  The medal was first awarded, fittingly, to Craig Joyce, the Andrews Kurth Professor of Law at the University of Houston, in whose honor the ASLH Board of Directors created the award.

Past Winners

2016Craig Evan Klafter
2014Thomas A. Green
2012Christopher Waldrep
2011Craig Joyce