2007 Annual Report

2007 Board of Directors Meeting
Tempe, Arizona
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel

Board Minutes (pdf)
Agenda, 2006 Minutes, U. Ill. Press Report (pdf)
Committee Reports Part 1 (pdf)
Committee Reports Part 2 (pdf)

Results of Elections


Professor Constance Backhouse, the Distinguished University Professor and University Research Chair at the University of Ottawa, who ran unopposed, elected President-Elect. As a result of this election, Maeva Marcus, the current President-Elect became president, and Charles Donahue became Immediate Past President.

Pursuant to the by-law amendment that the membership adopted in April 2007, the board voted to split the offices of Secretary and Treasurer.  Thomas P. Gallanis agreed to serve as secretary for a three-year term beginning in January of 2008.  The President, with the approval of the Executive Committee, also appointed Craig Klafter, of the University of British Columbia, as treasurer-elect, to succeed William LaPiana as treasurer when his term expires at the end of 2008.


Alfred L. Brophy of the University of Alabama, Mary Dudziak of the University of Southern California, Annette Gordon-Reed of the University Rutgers (Newark) and New York Law School, and Adam Kosto of Columbia University were elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors in the general category, and Karen Tani of the University of Pennsylvania was elected as the graduate student representative.  They replace Richard B. Bernstein of New York Law School Lyndsay Campbell of the University of California Berkeley, Thomas P. Gallanis of the University of Minnesota, James Oldham of Georgetown University, and Reva Siegel of Yale University, whose terms have expired.

Nominating Committee

Amalia D. Kessler of Stanford University and Barbara Y. Welke of the University of Minnesota were elected to three-year terms on the Nominating Committee.  They replace Kenneth Mack of Harvard University and Wesley Pue of the University of British Columbia, whose terms have expired.

Prizes and Awards

Cromwell Research Fellowships

William Nelson Cromwell Research Fellowships were awarded to: Lindsay Campbell, a Ph.D. candidate in the JSP Program at Berkeley for her work on the meaning and scope of rights to free expression and a free press in Massachusetts and Nova Scotia in the early nineteenth century; Christopher Schmidt, who a recent J.D. and Ph.D. from Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences, for his work reinterpreting the origins of Brown v. Board of Education to show the emergence of racial liberalism as a ruling ideology; Hilary Soderland, a Ph.D. in Archaeology from Cambridge University, and a J.D. candidate at the University of California, Berkeley, for her work on how the first century of archaeology law has shaped the study of Native American cultures, and Joshua Stein, a Ph.D. candidate at UCLA Department of History, for his work studying assault and battery prosecutions in New York City from 1760-1840, in order to understand local systems of justice and changing attitudes towards violence.

Preyer Scholars

The Preyer Memorial Committee chose two 2007 Preyer Scholars: Gautham Rao, a PhD student at Chicago, for “The Federal Posse Comitatus Doctrine: Slavery, Compulsion, and Statecraft in Mid-Nineteenth Century America,” (forthcoming, Law and History Review) and Laura Weinrib, a PhD student at Princeton and Harvard Law School graduate, for “The Sex Side of Civil Liberties, United States v. Dennett and the Changing Face of Free Speech.”

Cromwell Dissertation Prize

The first Cromwell Dissertation prize was awarded to Christopher Beauchamp for his dissertation The Telephone Patents: Intellectual Property, Business and the Law in the United States and, 1876-1900—a dissertation submitted for a Ph.D. at Cambridge University in 2006.

Surrency Prize

This year‘s Surrency Prize was split between Alison Morantz and John Wertheimer, the former for “There’s No Place Like Home: Homestead Exemption and Judicial Constructions of Family in Nineteenth-Century America,” and the latter for “Gloria’s Story: Adulterous Concubinage and the Law in Twentieth-Century Guatemala, both of which appeared in the Summer, 2006, issue of the Law and History Review.”

Sutherland Prize

This year’s Sutherland Prize was awarded to Sara Butler of Loyola University, New Orleans, for her article “Degrees of Culpability: Suicide Verdicts, Mercy, and the Jury in Medieval England,” published in the Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies in the Spring of 2006.

Cromwell Book Prize

The Cromwell Book Prize was awarded to Roy Kreitner of Tel Aviv University, for Calculating Promises The Emergence Of Modern American Contract Doctrine published by Stanford University Press.

Reid Book Prize

The John Phillip Reid Prize for the best book in legal history published in English during the previous the calendar year was awarded to Bill Wiecek for The Birth of the Modern Constitution: The United States Supreme Court1941-1953, volume 12 of the Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise History of the Supreme Court of the United States.