News & Announcements

November 17, 2021

2021 Plenary Address

The plenary address at the Society’s 2021 annual meeting in New Orleans was given by John Fabian Witt, Allen H. Duffy Class of 1960 Professor of Law at Yale Law School, and entitled “Garland’s Million: The Tragedy and Triumph of Legal History.” The plenary was presented at Tulane University, and the Society is deeply grateful to Tulane University President Michael Fitts and Dean David Meyer (Tulane Law School) for their unflagging commitment to sponsoring this event.

John Fabian Witt is the author of a number of books, including American Contagions: Epidemics and the Law from Smallpox to COVID-19 and Lincoln’s Code: The Laws of War in American History, which was awarded the Bancroft Prize, was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, was selected for the American Bar Association’s Silver Gavel Award, and was a New York Times Notable Book. Professor Witt is currently writing the story of the men and women behind the Garland Fund: the 1920s foundation that quietly financed the efforts that culminated in Brown v. Board of Education.

The 2021 plenary address can be accessed in two ways:

You can watch the plenary here:

You can listen to the audio only here:

Recent News

  • January 3, 2024

    ASLH (Virtual) Book Club: New Member Page

    We now have a new members-only page through which you can access Zoom links for live book club events, as well as available recordings of earlier events.… Keep Reading
  • November 1, 2023

    2023 Election Results

    At the Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA, ASLH President Michael Willrich announced the result of the Annual Election. Please join us in congratulating these newly elected members, and thanking them for their service! President Elect: Mitra Sharafi (University of Wisconsin) Nominating Committee Member: Susanna Blumenthal (University of Minnesota) Board Members:Keep Reading
  • October 31, 2023

    Congratulations to the 2023 Book and Article Prize Winners!

    Please join the ASLH in offering our congratulations to this year’s prize winners, in thanking the prize committees for their work, and in appreciating the generosity of the people and organizations who have generously funded them.   Cromwell Article Prize  Emilie Connolly, “Fiduciary Colonialism: Annuities and Native Dispossession in Early… Keep Reading