Cromwell Article Prize

The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation offers an annual prize of $2,500 for the best article in American legal history published by an early career scholar.  Articles published in 2012 in the field of American legal history, broadly conceived, will be considered.  There is a preference for articles in the colonial and early National periods.  Articles published in the Law and History Review are eligible for the Surrency Prize and will not be considered for the Cromwell Article Prize.

The Cromwell Foundation makes the final award, in consultation with a subcommittee from the American Society for Legal History.  This subcommittee invites nominations for the article prize.  Authors are invited to nominate themselves or others may nominate works meeting the criteria that they have read and enjoyed.  Please send a brief letter of nomination, no longer than a page, along with an electronic or hard copy of the article, by May 31, 2015, to the subcommittee chair, Alfred Brophy, University of North Carolina School of Law, Campus Box #3380, Chapel Hill, NC  27599-3380 or via email, <email>.  Other members of the articles subcomittee of the Cromwell Prizes Advisory Committee are Mary Sarah Bilder of Boston College, Daniel W. Hamilton of the University of Illinois, and Kristin A. Olbertson of Alma College.

Advisory Committee on the Cromwell Prizes

John D. Gordan III (2010), Chair, William Nelson Cromwell Foundation <email>
Mary Sarah Bilder (2010), Boston College <email>
Alfred L. Brophy (2011), University of North Carolina <email>
Jane Dailey (2012), University of Chicago <email>
Laura Edwards (2011), Duke University <email>
Daniel R. Ernst (2010), Georgetown University <email>
Christian Fritz (2011), University of New Mexico <email>
Joanna Grisinger (2012), Northwestern University <email>
Daniel W. Hamilton (2011), University of Nevada, Las Vegas <email>
Laura Kalman (2010), University of California, Santa Barbara <email>
Maeva Marcus (2010), George Washington University <email>
Kristin A. Olbertson (2012), Alma College <email>
Michael A. Ross (2010), University of Maryland  <email>

Past Recipients

2013Justin Driver, “The Constitutional Conservatism of the Warren Court,” California Law Review, 100 (2012): 1101-1167
2012David Freeman Engstrom, “The Lost Origins of American Fair Employment Law: Regulatory Choice and the Making of Modern Civil Rights, 1943-1972,” Stanford Law Review, 63 (2011): 1071-1143
2011Krishanti Vignarajah, “The Political Roots of Judicial Legitimacy: Explaining the Enduring Validity of the Insular Cases,” University of Chicago Law Review, 77 (2010): 781-845